Whether you need to dismiss a traffic ticket, take care of a seat belt violation, or you’re looking to earn an insurance discount, we’ve got the help you need! On this page, you will find a helpful step-by-step guide through each of these different scenarios. Read through the eligibility requirements, and follow along for an easy, hassle-free path to your ticket dismissal or insurance reduction!
1. Contact your court and request permission to dismiss your ticket through an online defensive driving course.
Make sure you contact your court on or before the date that is stated on your traffic ticket. You will typically be deemed eligible for dismissal if you meet the following eligibility requirements:
When you request permission for dismissal, you will have to admit guilt to your citation. At that time, they should refer you to take a state-approved defensive driving course.
2. Enroll in and complete your Texas Defensive Driving Course for Ticket Dismissal.
Most Texas courts give a 90-day deadline to complete and submit proof of your defensive driving course. Make sure, as you’re working through your course, that you finish it in time to get your Certificate of Completion into the court by the deadline given.
3. Submit your Completion Certificate AND your 3A certified driving record to your court.
Texas courts require you to submit a copy of your driving record along with your proof of course completion. Make sure you choose a shipping method that gives you plenty of time to mail, fax, or bring your Certificate to the court.
We will mail your Certificate to you for free via standard U.S. Mail. If you need to expedite your shipping after you’ve already enrolled in the course, you can call our Customer Support center and change your delivery method to one of our FedEx options.
4. Check your driving record.
After the court has processed your course completion, check your driving record to ensure that the violation is not present.
1. Contact your court (or appear at your court date) and receive a referral for a Texas Seat Belt Course.
Court requirements vary – some may give you a referral by phone, and some may require you to appear at the date listed on your citation. Once you have received permission to take this course, you may enroll and begin.
Typically, you must meet the following eligibility requirements:
For specifics on Texas’ seat belt laws, please visit the DPS website at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/director_staff/public_information/seatbelt.htm.
2. Enroll in and complete your Texas Seat Belt Course.
While our course is self-paced, your court will likely have given you a deadline by which they require you to submit your course completion. So while you’re working through your lessons at a relaxing pace, please keep your court deadline in mind.
3. Submit your Completion Certificate AND your 3A certified driving record to the court..
Most Texas courts require you to submit your official driving record for seat belt ticket dismissal. Mail, fax, or hand-deliver both your Completion Certificate and your driving record to the court by their deadline. If you chose standard delivery but you find yourself needing to expedite your shipping, you may call our Customer Support center and request a change in delivery method.
4. Check your driving record.
Give your court 2-3 weeks to process your defensive driving course completion, and then pull a copy of your driving record. You want to ensure that your seat belt violation has been removed from your driving history.
1. Contact your insurance agency for details on their discount options.
Most companies will reward their safe drivers who complete a defensive driving Insurance Discount course. When you speak to your insurance agent, make sure to ask:
2.Enroll in and complete your Texas Insurance Discount course.
Work through your course at your own designated pace. There’s no pressure, nor are there any deadlines. The faster you finish, the faster you’ll get that insurance discount!
3.Submit your Completion Certificate to your insurance company.
After you finish your course, we’ll process and send your Certificate of Completion to your house for free! Typically, your insurance provider will specify whether they want you to mail, fax, or bring in your Completion Certificate. If they haven’t specified, just ask them!
4. Enjoy your reduced insurance rate!